Back to All Events


Patrick Dobson is an award-winning writer, scholar, and poet. Patrick has lived and worked most of his life on the fringes of the Great Plains in Kansas City, MO. His second book concerns his trip from Helena, MT, to Kansas City in a canoe. Canoeing the Great Plains: A Missouri River Summer (May 2015). His first book, Seldom Seen: A Journey into the Great Plainswas published to critical acclaim in 2009. Canoeing the Great Plains won the 2016 Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award and the 2016 High Plains Book Award in Creative Nonfiction. Both books are published by the University of Nebraska Press.

Patrick earned a doctorate in American History and American Literature in 2013. He teaches American History, Modern Latin American History, and Western Civilization at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, KS.

When he is not teaching, Patrick builds bridges with Ironworkers Local Union #10 in Kansas City.

Read his essays and travel pieces at  .   For more information about Patrick's workshop and to register click  here .

Read his essays and travel pieces at

For more information about Patrick's workshop and to register click here.

Max McCoy has won awards from the Associated Press Managing Editors and other groups for his longform reporting on unsolved murders, serial killers, and hate groups. In addition to his work as an investigative writer for The Joplin Globe, McCoy has written for publications as diverse as True Detective, American Photographer, Fortean Times, True West, The New Territory, and The Wilson Quarterly. He's a professor of journalism at Emporia State University, in east central Kansas, where he specializes in investigative reporting, nonfiction narrative, and Free Speech issues. He's also director of ESU's Center for Great Plains Studies. University Press of Kansas published his Elevations: A Personal Exploration of the Arkansas River  in 2018.

McCoy is an award-winning novelist. His books include four original Indiana Jones adventures, licensed by LucasFilm and published by Random House, and he wrote the novelization of Steven Spielberg's epic miniseries, Into the West. He's also the author of the Ophelia Wylde series of paranormal mysteries. Of Grave Concern, the first novel in the series, was named a 2014 Kansas notable book by the State Library of Kansas. McCoy has won three Spur awards from the Western Writers of America for best novel, most recently in 2011, for Damnation Road. Hellfire Canyon, another Spur winner, was also named a Kansas Notable Book.



Earlier Event: August 24
Later Event: August 27
The Writers Place Open Mic Night